2008, What I Wanted

I wanted it to be 2007, before my husband lost
his white collar and our nest egg broke its shell against
the blind windows of Wall Street. I wanted not to feel
the clench in my guts every time the bills came due.
I wanted to believe my son, almost grown, would head
to college and enjoy the life my parents provided me.
It is 2011. My son works overnights. Mornings at seven,
I hear him climb the stairs toward his day’s rest.
If I am quick, I may catch a trace of his boy’s smile,
testing itself against an older, stranger’s face.

Published at Wilderness House Literary Review, 2012

Reprinted in Poets on the Great Recession, 2012: http://poetsonrecession.blogspot.com/2012/01/jp-reese.html
©JP Reese 2011

Leave a Reply

